WCPT E-Update - May 2019

WCPT Eupdate
WCPT E-Update - May 2019
WCPT President and Vice President elected at General Meeting
Emma Stokes has been elected as President and Melissa Locke has been elected as Vice President of WCPT. 

Voting delegates from 107 WCPT member organisations took part in the election at WCPT’s General Meeting on Thursday 9th May at the Starling Hotel Geneva, Switzerland. 

The following regional board members have also been elected:
  • Jean Damascene Gasherebuka (Africa Region) 
  • Yasushi Uchiyama (Asia Western Pacific Region) 
  • John Xerri de Caro (European Region) 
  • Stacy de Gale (North America Caribbean)
  • Daniel Wappenstein (South America)
Read the press release.
13 new member organisations admitted to WCPT
13 physical therapy associations were admitted to WCPT at its General Meeting on 8th May 2019 in Geneva. This brings the total number of member organisations to 121.  

The new member organisations are the physical therapy associations from: Bhutan, Costa Rica, Georgia, Haiti, Ivory Coast, Kosovo, Madagascar, Mali, Morocco, Myanmar, Papua New Guinea, Senegal, Sudan. 

Read the press release

See the full list of WCPT member organisations
Physical therapists honoured at WCPT Awards Dinner
Australian physical therapist Anne Moseley was awarded the Mildred Elson Award, WCPT's highest honour, for her outstanding contribution to the physical therapy profession as a clinician, teacher, and researcher and, in particular, for her leadership and commitment to the promotion of evidence-based physical therapy through the Physiotherapy Evidence Database or PEDro.

Daniel Wappenstein Deller, president of the Ecuadorian Society of Physiotherapy and the coordinator of the project humanitarian support in physical therapy earthquake Ecuador 16A was presented with a WCPT Humanitarian Service Award. 

Christina H Opava was awarded a WCPT Leadership in Rehabilitation Award for her contribution to the professional advancement of physical therapy. She is a pioneer in the field of physical therapy and rheumatology.

Lorena Enebral Perez was presented with a posthumous WCPT Humanitarian Service Award. A Spanish physical therapist, Lorena had worked as a humanitarian aid worker in Ethiopia, Malawi, Tanzania, and the Sahara. In 2016 she began working in Afghanistan where she was fatally shot in 2017 while working with a service user of the ICRC physical rehabilitation centre in Mazar-i-Sharif.
WCPT International Service Awards were also awarded to:  

Hana I Alsobayel – Saudi Arabia  
Annalie Basson – South Africa 
Sarah Bazin – UK  
Aicha Benyaich – Belgium  
Jennifer M Bottomley – USA 
Gill Brook – UK  
Charlotte Hager – Sweden  
Alice Jones – Hong Kong  
Shunsuke Kudo – Japan  
Brenda Myers – UK  
Guy Simoneau – Canada

Read the press release

Biographies for all award recipients and photographs from the WCPT Awards Dinner will be available on the WCPT website shortly.
New WCPT policies approved at General Meeting
The following were approved at WCPT's General Meeting: See the full list of WCPT policies

WCPT's policy statements set out its agreed stance or opinion on a range of topics. They are important tools for informing health and social policy around the world, and furthering the development of the profession and service delivery.
New open access journal
This month saw the publication of the first issue of The Lancet Digital Health, an open access journal in the Lancet family. It is committed to publishing high-quality original research, comment, and correspondence contributing to promoting digital technologies in health practice worldwide.

Access the first issue
If you are unable to access our website using the links within this email, you may need to copy and paste the hyperlinks directly into your internet browser, or try to view this email in a browser